Interesting Letters and Items from Early Childhood

Letter to Aunt Lois from Mary Myers
(written in 1959 at 7 years of age)

Dear Aunt Lois,

Deezee came to my house
Bucky made coolade
We went to the Hub to eat. I had chicken
We got a new baby girl
I like school. I can read and read
I am a good reader
I wore my new dress to Sunday School

Mary Myers

Postcard from Mary (10 yrs. old) to Nanny Myers
(from Neuschwantstein, Germany, showing the Royal Castle)

Dear Nanny,

How are you? We are now in the German Alps. Our first stop on the ship to Naples was Singapore, then Colombo, Bombay, Aden, Suez, Said, and Naples. We went to the Majestic Hotel for two days, and then took the 9:30 train to Rome. From Rome to Venice on the 9:45 train. Venice was the nicest and cheapest of all and we just loved it there. The pictures on the front of this card is Schwanstein Castle just like in the fairy tales. Believe it or not, it snowed hwere on May first. And that reminds me, how is the weather there? The Alps are really beautiful from where we are right now. I apologize for not writing for so long, but our schedule is so full. We are going to go from here in the Alps to Paris, Belgium, Holland, Switzerland, Ireland, and England. We had lots of fun in the Philippines and we wished you could be there. We went to Hawaii, Japan and Hong Kong. Hawaii was simply beautiful. You should have been with us. We all hope to see you soon. Write soon.

Lots of love,

Mary

Leave a comment